Christ Whose Glory Fills the Skies

One of my absolute favorites!

Christ, whose glory fills the skies,
Christ, the true, the only Light,
Sun of Righteousness, arise,
Triumph o’er the shades of night;
Dayspring from on high, be near;
Day-star, in my heart appear.

Dark and cheerless is the morn
Unaccompanied by Thee;
Joyless is the day’s return
Till Thy mercy’s beams I see;
Till they inward light impart,
Glad my eyes, and warm my heart.

Visit then this soul of mine,
Pierce the gloom of sin and grief;
Fill me, Radiancy divine,
Scatter all my unbelief;
More and more Thyself display,
Shining to the perfect day.

Words: Charles Wesley, 1740.
Tune:Ratisbon” Johann G. Werner’s Chor­al­buch zu den neu­en pro­test­ant­isch­en Ge­sang­büch­ern, 1815.

Just for fun, tried my hand at translating this hymn into Latin. If any more knowledgeable Latinists have corrections or constructive critiques, I welcome them. My Latin text is as follows:

O Christe, cuius gloria
Cælestis replet omnia,
Tu qui sola lux es vere
Exsurge, Sol Iustitiæ!
Nunc depelle umbra mortis,
Ades mihi Fons Amoris;
Tu stella dulcis, Oriens,
Inlustra cor adveniens.

Aurora tenebrosa est
Mæstaque Iesu ni ades;
Reditus est diei tristis
Estque victus vires cordis
Donec misericordiæ
Videbo iubares tuæ
Quæ dant sicco meo cordi
Fervorem Sacri Cordis Christi.

Tunc visita hanc animam
Depelleque mæstitiam
Peccati atque doloris;
Et cor huius peccatoris
Imple nunc tuo splendore;
Perfidiam meam sparge;
Magis nitat in me tua
Imago donec sæcula.

Latin translation by Noah Townsend, 2017.

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Charles Wesley, Hymns By The Greats, Hymns I Wrote, Jesus Christ Our Lord, Latin Hymns, Morning Prayer/Lauds, The Liturgy of Hours/Hours of the Day, Translations of English Hymns to Other Languages. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

