Dearest Jesus Thanks I Raise

Dearest Jesus, thanks I raise
For Thy sufferings and pain,
For the insults, shame and scorn
Which Thou for my soul hast borne,
For the blessings Thou didst gain,
Evermore I’ll sing Thy praise!

O Redeemer, Dearest Friend,
Brother on Whom I depend!
Jesus Christ, do Thou let me
More and more clearly know Thee!
Make my walk with Thee more near!
Make my love for Thee more dear!

Words: Noah Townsend, Copyright 2012. Based off of the prayer of St. Richard
Tune:Ratisbon” Johann G. Werner’s Chor­al­buch zu den neu­en pro­test­ant­isch­en Ge­sang­büch­ern, 1815.

This hymn is based on one of my favorite prayers, the prayer of St. Richard of Chichester to our Lord Jesus. Here is the text of the prayer:

Thanks be to Thee, O Lord Jesus Christ, for all the cruel pains and insults Thou hast borne for be; for all the many blessings Thou hast won for me. O Holy Jesus, most merciful Redeemer, Friend and Brother: May I know Thee more clearly, love Thee more dearly, and follow Thee more nearly. Amen.

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Hymns I Wrote, Jesus Christ Our Lord, The Sacred Heart. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

