While By The Sheep We Watched At Night (Echo Carol)

While by the sheep we watched at night,
Glad tidings brought an angel bright.
Refrain:
How great our joy! Great our joy!
Joy, joy, joy! Joy, joy, joy!
Praise we the Lord in heaven on high!
Praise we the Lord in heaven on high!

There shall be born, so He did say,
In Bethlehem a Child today.
Refrain.

There shall the Child lie in a stall,
This Child who shall redeem us all.
Refrain.

This gift of God we’ll cherish well,
That ever joy our hearts shall fill.
Refrain.

Words: Traditional German carol; tr. Theodore Baker, 19th Century.
Tune:Als Ich Bei Meinen Schafen Wacht” traditional German carol.

Here is the original German text of the hymn:

Als ich bei meinen Schafen wacht
Ein Engel mir die Botschaft bracht.
Refrain:
Des bin ich froh, bin ich froh,
Froh, froh, froh! Froh, froh, froh!
Benedicamus Domino! Benedicamus Domino!

Er sagt’, es soll geboren sein
Zu Bethlehem ein Kindelein
Refrain.

Er sagt, das Kind läg da im Stall
Und soll die Welt erlösen all.
Refrain.

Als ich das Kind im Stall gesehn
Nicht wohl konnt ich von dannen gehn.
Refrain.

Das Kind zu mir sein’ Äuglein wandt,
Mein Herz gab ich in seine Hand.
Refrain.

Demütig küßt’ ich seine Fuß’,
Davon mein Mund ward zuckersüß.
Refrain.

Als ich heimging, das Kind wollt’ mit
Und wollt’ von mir abweichen nit.
Refrain.

Das Kind legt’ sich an meine Brust
Und macht’ mir da all’ Herzenslust
Refrain.

Den Schatz muß ich bewahren wohl,
So bleibt mein Herz der Freuden voll.
Refrain.

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Christmas, German Hymns, Non-English Hymns, The Church Year. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

