To God Almighty I Confess

To God Almighty I confess,
To Ever-Virgin Mary Blest,
Saint Michael, and the Baptist, John,
To Peter, Paul and all the Saints
That greatly have I sinn’d and err’d
By deed and sloth, by thought and word.
Refrain:
By my own fault, by my own fault,
By my great fault have I thus sinn’d.

Thus now I make my fond request
To Ever-Virgin Mary Blest,
Saint Michael, and the Baptist, John,
To Peter, Paul and all the Saints
That they might pray great God above
Forgive, renew me in His love.
Refrain.

Words: Noah Townsend, copyright 2017 (paraphrase of the traditional words of the Confiteor)
Tune:Nostre Dieu” Calvin’s Psalter, 1539.
Meter: 88.88

I created this hymn as a paraphrase of the traditional words of the Confiteor, which are as follows in Latin:

Confiteor Deo omnipotenti, beatæ Mariæ semper Virgini, beato Michæli Archangelo, beato Ioanni Baptistæ, sanctis Apostolis Petro et Paulo, et omnibus Sanctis, quia peccavi nimis cogitatione, verbo et opere: mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa. Ideo precor beatam Mariam semper Virginem, beatum Michælem Archangelum, beatum Ioannem Baptistam, sanctos Apostolos Petrum et Paulum, et omnes Sanctos, orare pro me ad Dominum Deum nostrum. Amen.

And here is the translation of the prayer into English:

I confess to Almighty God, to blessed Mary Ever-Virgin, to blessed Michael the Archangel, to blessed John the Baptist, to the holy Apostles Peter and Paul, and to all the Saints that I have sinned exceedingly in thought, word, and deed, through my fault, through my fault, through my most grievous fault. Therefore, I ask blessed Mary Ever-Virgin, blessed Michael the Archangel, blessed John the Baptist, the holy Apostles Peter and Paul, and all the Saints, to pray for me to the Lord our God. Amen.

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Confession/Penance, English Translation of Non-English Hymn, Hymns I Wrote, Latin Hymns, Non-English Hymns, Penitential Hymns, The Sacraments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

