Happiness, Thou Lovely Name

This is the original text of this hymn as it appears in the October 1774 edition of Gospel Magazine where it is listed under the heading “Happiness Found”:

Happiness, thou lovely name,
Where’s thy seat, O tell me, where?
Learning, pleasure, wealth, and fame,
All cry out, “It is not here:”
Not the wisdom of the wife
Can inform me where it lies.
Not the grandeur of the great
Can the bliss, I seek, create.

Object of my first desire,
Jesus, crucify’d for me!
All to happiness aspire,
Only to be found in thee:
Thee to please, and thee to know,
Constitute our bliss below;
Thee to see, and thee to love,
Constitute our bliss above.

Lord, it is not life to live,
If thy presence thou deny:
Lord, if thou thy presence give;
‘Tis no longer death to die:
Source and giyer of repose,
Singly from thy smile it flows;
Peace and happiness are thine;
Mine they are, if Thou art mine.

Whilst I feel thy love to me,
Ev’ry object teems with joy:
Here O may I walk with Thee,
Then into thy presence die!
Let me but Thyself possess,
Total sum of happiness!
Real bliss I then shall prove;
Heav’n below, and heav’n above.

Words: Augustus Toplady, 1774.
Tune (Church Hymns): “Cassel” Bohemian Brethren’s Choral Book, 1531.
Meter: 7.7.7.7.D.

This is the text of this hymn as it appears in Church Hymns (1871) where it is listed under General Hymns. It is a cento of the full hymn:

Saviour, whom I fain would love,
Jesus, crucified for me,
Fix my roving heart above,
Draw me nearer unto Thee.
Thee to praise and Thee to know
Make the joy of saints below:
Thee to see and Thee to love
Make the bliss of saints above.

Lord, it is not life to live,
If Thy presence Thou deny:
Lord, if Thou Thy presence give,
‘Tis no longer death to die.
Source and Giver of repose,
Only from Thy love it flows;
Peace and happiness are Thine,
Mine they are, if Thou art mine. Amen.

About Noah

musings of a young Catholic aspiring to be faithful to his Lord and God Jesus Christ through His Holy Catholic Church
This entry was posted in Augustus Toplady, General Hymns, God the Son, Hymns By The Greats, Jesus Christ Our Lord, The Christian Life And Mission, The Godhead, Trust in God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment